Nelson-Atkins Building


The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art has been aptly led through the years by five dedicated directors, whose years were each marked by major acquisitions, advancement and societal change.

Paul Gardner

Paul Gardner, 1933–1953

Laurence Sickman

Laurence Sickman, 1953–1977

Ralph T. Coe

Ralph T. Coe, 1977–1982

Marc F. Wilson

Marc F. Wilson, 1982–2010

Julián Zugazagoitia

Julián Zugazagoitia, 2010–Present

Serving the Community
The Collections

Where the power of art engages the spirit of community
© 2015 The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
4525 Oak Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 | 816.751.1278 | Contact Us